The United States Australian Football League is the nationwide 40-team circuit of amateur footy clubs, and is the AFL-sanctioned body of the sport in the USA.

The Board of Directors of the USAFL (United States Australian Football League) – the AFL-sanctioned governing body of the sport in the USA – recognized Major League Footy as the ‘Florida Winter League’ of the sport during the Board’s November 21 meeting.

With play beginning November 19 with St. Petersburg’s 11.6.72 – 3.6.24 win over visiting Orlando, Major League Footy is the Central Florida-based competition highlighting various forms of game play during the traditional ‘off-season’ of November-February.

The circuit features seven sides comprised primarily of players from the St. Petersburg Swans (Tampa Bay ARFC) USAFL registered player list, although there are no dues of any other costs for players during winter competition.

All sides are also co-ed and open to all interested players, both veterans and those new to the sport.

The concept of winter play in Central Florida began with the simplest of realizations: The area’s weather is uniquely suited to year-round play.

With a primary emphasis on training, recruitment and competition in the spirit of fun, matches will be played with various rules – from Ausball and AFL 9s to full-contact Americanized ‘metro rules’ throughout the winter season. The season will culminate with a Championship Final on February 25, 2017, and the full schedule of Major League Footy Florida Winter League matches will be available soon on both the circuit’s website ( as well as



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *